Does your state allow counties, cities, and/or other local jurisdictions to choose to be a wet or dry jurisdiction?

Wet (or "moist) Counties

Dry Counties

Additional Information


State law allows local jurisdictions to hold a vote on being wet or dry and to what extent alcoholic beverages may be sold. See Alabama Code 28-3- 1-(28) and Alabama Code 28-3-1-(9).

All counties


The following cities are wet in counties otherwise dry: Albertville, Aliceville, Arab, Athens, Blountsville, Boaz, Brent, Bridgeport, Carbon Hill, Cedar Bluff, Centre, Centreville, Chatom, Clanton, Cleveland, Collinsville, Cordova, Cullman, Decatur, Dora, Elba, Enterprise, Fayette, Florence, Ft. Payne, Frisco City, Geneva, Good Hope, Grove Hill, Guin, Guntersville, Haleyville, Hamilton, Hollywood, Jackson, Jasper, Jemison, Monroeville, Moulton, New Brockton, Oneonta, Priceville, Reform, Rogersville, Russellville, St Florian, Samson, Scottsboro, Slocomb, Stevenson, Sulligent, Thomasville, Thorsby, Town Creek, Winfield


State law allows local jurisdictions to hold public referendums and/or approve local laws or regulations on alcohol sales.

Alaska does not have counties, the state has boroughs. All boroughs are wet


There are several cities and villages in the state that remain dry.